World Cup Russia 2018

Wold Cup Russia 2018. The 21st edition of the World Cup is just around the corner and we are looking forward to the start of this great and expected event.

The Russia 2018 World Cup will take place between June 14 and July 15 of this year and will be the first time this championship takes place in a country in Eastern Europe. Here we tell you all the details you should know about this World Cup event.

World cup Russia 2018

FIFA Russia 2018 World Cup

The group stage will begin on June 14, 2018, the day that Russia will debut in its World Cup against Saudi Arabia, and end on the 28th of the same month. The round of 16 will start two days later and will continue for four days, from June 30 to July 3. The quarterfinals will be played between July 6 and 7, the semifinals on 10 and 11 of the same month, and the World Cup will end on July 15 with the grand final.

Zabivaka the Mascot of Russia 2018

  • The mascot of Russia 2018 World Cup is named Zabivaka. This is a nice wolf that was chosen through online surveys with creations of more than 51,000 young Russians.

As for the ball of Russia 2018 World Cup, the Telstar 18 is the chosen one. It is the work of Adidas, multinational responsible for distributing the World Cup balls since 1970.

With respect to the venues, Russia confirmed 12 stadiums in 11 cities for the World Cup: Yekaterinburg, Kaliningrad, Kazan, Moscow, Nizhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-Don, St. Petersburg, Samara, Saransk, Sochi and Volgograd, which will host the 64 matches of The World Cup.

Countries to participate and how they are divided

The countries participating in the Russia 2018 World Cup have been divided into several groups. In group A we find Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Uruguay. In group B, they will face Portugal, Spain, Morocco and Iran. In the C will be playing France, Australia, Peru and Denmark. With respect to the D, you will find Argentina, Iceland, Croatia and Nigeria. In the E Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica and Serbia will be disputed. In group F, Germany, Mexico, Sweden and South Korea will be competing. In the G will face Belgium, Panama, Tunisia and England. And finally, group H will face Poland, Senegal, Colombia and Japan.

These 32 selections are disputed in addition to the long-awaited cup, 38 million dollars. In Russia the winner will receive 38 million dollars and the finalist 28. The third will receive 24 million and the fourth 22. The teams eliminated in the group stage will receive 8 million dollars. Those that fall in eighth 12 million and those of quarters 16.

Among the favorite selections to take this prize are Germany, Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay.

World Cup Russia 2018
5 (100%) 4 votes